Konstantina Stankovic, MD, PhD, FACS


  • Associate Professor of Otolaryngology, Harvard Medical School
  • Sheldon and Dorothea Buckler Chair in Otolaryngology, Massachusetts Eye and Ear

  • Chief, Division of Otology and Neurotology – Skull Base Surgery, Massachusetts Eye and Ear
  • Director, Molecular Neurotology and Biotechnology Laboratory, Massachusetts Eye and Ear
  • Principal Investigator, Eaton Peabody Laboratories


  • MD magna cum laude, Harvard Medical School and Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology (1999)
  • PhD in Speech and Hearing Bioscience and Technology, MIT and Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology (1998)
  • BS in Physics and BS in Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) (1992)


  • Clinical Fellowship in Neurotology – Skull Base Surgery, Massachusetts Eye and Ear, Harvard Medical School
  • Research Fellowship in Molecular Neuroscience, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Boston Children’s Hospital
  • Residency in Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Harvard Medical School
  • Internship in General Surgery, Massachusetts General Hospital


As a practicing surgeon trained in basic science, I have focused on improving diagnostics, prognostics and therapeutics for sensorineural hearing loss by identifying and overcoming barriers to hearing restoration. Sensorineural hearing loss is the world’s most common sensory deficit and most common congenital anomaly for which effective cures do not yet exist. Hearing loss is physically and emotionally costly to individuals, and economically costly to society, as it has been linked to social isolation, cognitive dysfunction, and an increased risk for depression and dementia. The total number of people suffering from hearing loss worldwide is anticipated to exceed 900 million by 2025.

Our overarching goal is to adopt existing and develop new technologies for diagnosis and treatment of inner ear disorders. Our approach exploits the cochlea’s unique chemical, electrical and cellular microenvironment. I have been dedicated to the hearing field since my undergraduate studies. With my training in physics, molecular biology, auditory neuroscience, systems electrophysiology and otologic surgery, we take a cross-disciplinary approach to address the unmet needs of the hearing-impaired. To overcome the limitations intrinsic to the small size and complex three-dimensional structure of the inner ear, our approach is shaped by clinical insights, and by interdisciplinary collaborations with international leaders of technology development, including in ultra-low power electronics and nonlinear optics.


  • Elected Member, Collegium Oto-Rhino-Laryngologicum Amicitiae Sacrum (CORLAS)

  • Guest of Honor Lecture, American Otological Society (2018)

  • Sheldon and Dorothea Buckler Chair in Otolaryngology, Massachusetts Eye and Ear (since 2018)

  • Howard P. House, MD Memorial Lecture for Advance in Otology, American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery (2015)
  • Benjamins Prize for research, Collegium Oto-Rhino-Laryngologicum Amicitiae Sacrum (the most authoritative international association of otorhinolaryngologists) (2015)
  • Neurofibromatosis Research Program (NFRP) featured investigator, Department of Defense (2015)
  • Elected Member, American Otological Society (since 2015)
  • Thomas A. McMahon Mentoring Award from Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology (2014)
  • President, American Auditory Society (2014)
  • Fellow, American Neurotology Society (since 2012)
  • Fellow, American College of Surgeons (since 2011)
  • Burt Evans Young Investigator Award from the National Organization for Hearing Research for dedicated commitment and excellence in the pursuit of otologic studies (2011)
  • Henry Asbury Christian Award for outstanding performance in research and scholarly activities, Harvard Medical School (1999)
  • Association of MIT Alumnae (AMITA) award for the highest degree of academic excellence and professional promise (1992)
  • Elected Member, Phi Beta Kappa, Sigma Xi, Sigma Pi Sigma honor societies (since 1992)